Skip to content

White Supremacy, Exgays, and Me

May 20, 2013

white_pride_worldwide Photo Credit:Digitaljournal.com

I stumbled into White Supremacy, and I found it to be quite familiar.  The tone, the attitude, the ambience was something I was quite familiar with.  Fundamentalist Christianity (not necessarily Evangelicals) has many of the same structural traits that White Supremacists have. An authoritarian patriarchal structure, a belief system that demands absolute obedience, a belief in power and control over all members, a paranoid sense that members may leave or betray the group, an unfounded belief in persecution, hope in a utopian future when all undesirables will be eliminated or removed, and finally a contempt for anything feminine-femininity being equated with weakness. 

I stumbled into White Supremacy through the internet.  I was looking for an article Pat Buchanan had written on homosexuality and through my search stumbled across a website called V-Dare.  I started exploring and one site led to another which led to another which led to my fascination with White Supremacist beliefs.  What I found was the same pattern of argument through out there reasoning that Fundamentalists have.  The pattern was the same: in Anti-Semitism, Racism, and Homophobia.  Find a Scripture, interpret that Scripture to dehumanize a group, turn peoples faith into a religion based on power, and find disenfranchised people to follow a charismatic Alpha male leader.

A couple of quotes from Jerry Falwell “AIDS is not just God’s punishment for homosexuals; it is God’s punishment for the society that tolerates homosexuals.” (Retrieved from D. Kurtzman About.com) “If Chief Justice Warren and his associates had known God’s Word and had desired to do the Lord’s will, I am quite confident that the 1954 decision (Brown vs.Board of Education which ended public school segregation) would never have been made.”  “The facilities should be separate.  When God has drawn a line of distinction, we should not attempt to cross that line.”  Both previous quotes were retrieved from Max Blumenthal’s article Jerry Falwell’s Racist Roots. Now those opposed to gay rights will say that there is no correlation between gay rights and racial equality.  The problem with that is that those who today oppose gay rights are the same churches, organizations, and populations whose parents opposed desegregation.  There is a seamless and uncanny continuity between the groups that today oppose gay rights and those that in the past opposed desegregation.

 

 

What I found very interesting was that those that opposed gay rights in the White Supremacist community would privately treat me with respect since I was celibate and an exgay, but would not support me publically, the same reaction I got in Christian circles. In closing I would like to point out how exgays in my view give the lie to the belief that Christians view homosexuality just like any other sin and simply oppose equal rights for those that engage in homosexual behavior. I was discharged from the military under Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell even though I was a virgin and actively involved in the exgay movement. The military said I was a threat to America’s defense not because I had engaged in homosexual behavior or even that I was likely to, but because I simply had a propensity to engage in homosexual behavior-by the way I only “came out” because rumors about my sexuality had started in my unit. The fact that I struggle with a socially unacceptable sin was the only reason I was discharged with the full blessing of this Judeo-Christian government, a Democratic government mind you-the people of this country through their representatives said that the fact that I exist was a threat to the nation—unbelievable. I also attended Crossroads Church of Denver where Pastor Tom Stipe explained in an emotional and intense sermon one day that a man who had been married for over twenty years with several children had been denied the opportunity to volunteer for ministry because he had engaged in homosexual behavior prior to his marriage, even though he had been faithful for over twenty years he was denied the privilege of serving in ministry because he was a threat to the children of the church. The crowd roared like they were at a Nuremberg rally. This was not sincerely held opposition to homosexuality due to sincerely held religious beliefs, it was bigotry cloaked in religion-just like the segregationists of a generation ago.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. White Supremacy, Exgays, and Me | theliberalexgay

Leave a Reply

